START-UPS WITHOUT BORDERS

Worldfactory international makes the world a marketplace

Innovation knows no borders – and entrepreneurial spirit is not a question of nationality. That’s why internationally viable business models need access to markets at home and abroad. And that is why international start-ups from universities deserve the same support as German ones.

The “Worldfactory international” programme crosses borders in the minds and on the map. It bundles the international start-up and transfer activities at Ruhr-Universität Bochum and uses global networks and partnerships to create space for start-ups without borders. Joint research makes all participants more visible on the world stage. Above all, it allows them to shape the world of tomorrow together. That is more than one good reason!

“Our goal is to become an international hotbed of innovation and entrepreneurship.”
- Marc Seelbach, Head of Transfer & Entrepreneurship at the Worldfactory

International founder working on laptop

Worldfactory international offers…

  • an advanced training programme for international start-ups and early career researchers interested in founding a company to implement business ideas
  • advice and support for the establishment or internationalisation of start-ups
  • tailor-made support from Incubators in the fields of IT security (Cube 5), chemistry (Start4Chem), materials science (Materials), product-service systems and smart products (Smart Systems) and health science (Health+)
  • international start-up events for networking with regional companies, start-ups, investors and the regional ecosystem
  • a guest programme for international researchers interested in starting a business, in order to explore transfer potential from research and to deepen collaboration
  • a global partner network with strong research and transfer capabilities

Expanding the Network and the Horizon

Going to Japan and North America with WORLDFACTORY international 

How do start-ups work on the other side of the world? What does the innovation landscape look like in North America or Japan? What spin-off trends and new ideas do they have? The annual delegation trip of WORLDFACTORY international provides an opportunity for individual insights, exchange and the expansion of global networks.

Read more

RuhrSummit international

The RuhrSummit, the largest B2B start-up event in Germany, takes place once a year. Together with the ruhr:HUB we have integrated additional services that will connect you with companies, investors and the ecosystem of the region

The offers of RuhrSummit

Bootcamp „Entrepreneurship Explorer Ruhr“

The bootcamp makes you ready for the start-up in a two-week period. The training programme prepares you to implement innovative business ideas. It has a modular structure and outlines all aspects of successful business model, team and product development.

Through site visits and meetings with successful founders, you will gain insight into the regional start-up ecosystem. The bootcamp ends with a pitch of business ideas. The winner will receive support in developing the business model and for technology transfer.

Read more

Guest programme “Global Transfer Exchange”

In order to explore and enhance the transfer potential of their own research, researchers at Ruhr-Universität are offered a unique opportunity: they can invite international researchers who are interested in start-ups and applications to RUB. The customised guest programme strengthens cooperation and supports the launch of joint transfer projects.

 

A HIGH-POTENTIAL PROGRAMME

The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy is funding the Worldfactory’s internationalisation programme as part of the “EXIST-Potentiale” intitiative. It supports universities in expanding start-up activities and start-up excellence.

Read more

Your contacts

Portrait Vanessa Vaughn
Vanessa Vaughn

Project Management

Portrait Meike Schaich
Meike Schaich

International Network Manager

Portrait Annika Engelbert
Dr. Annika Engelbert

International Network Manager

Start-up international

Gründung ohne Grenzen: Worldfactory international macht die Welt zum Markt

Innovation kennt keine Grenzen – und Gründergeist ist keine Frage der Nationalität. Deshalb brauchen global zukunftsfähige Geschäftsmodelle Möglichkeiten zum internationalen Markteintritt. Und deshalb verdienen internationale Start-ups aus der Hochschule die gleiche Förderung wie deutsche.

Das Programm „Worldfactory international“ überschreitet Grenzen in den Köpfen und auf der Landkarte. Es bündelt die internationalen Gründungs- und Transferaktivitäten der Ruhr-Universität Bochum und schafft mit globalen Netzwerken und Partnerschaften Spielraum für Gründung ohne Grenzen. Gemeinsames Forschen verleiht allen Beteiligten mehr Sichtbarkeit auf der Weltbühne. Vor allem aber erlaubt es, miteinander die Welt von morgen zu gestalten. Das ist mehr als ein guter Grund!

„Unser Ziel ist es, ein internationaler Leuchtturm für Innovationen und Unternehmer*innentum zu werden.“
- Marc Seelbach, Leiter Transfer & Entrepreneurship der Worldfactory

Internationale Start-up Gründerin am Laptop

WORLDFACTORY INTERNATIONAL BIETET...

  • ein Fortbildungsprogramm für internationale Start-ups und gründungsinteressierte Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen zum Umsetzen von Geschäftsideen 
  • Beratung und Unterstützung beim Ansiedeln bzw. Internationalisieren von Start-ups
  • maßgeschneiderte Unterstützung durch Inkubatoren aus den Fachgebieten IT-Sicherheit (Cube 5), Chemie (Start4Chem), Materialwissenschaft (Materials), Product-Service-Systems und Smart Products (Smart Systems) sowie Gesundheitswissenschaft (Health+) 
  • internationale Events zur Vernetzung mit regionalen Unternehmen, Start-ups, Investoren und dem regionalen Ökosystem
  • ein Gastprogramm für internationale gründungsaffine Wissenschaftler*innen, um Transferpotenzial aus der Forschung zu ergründen und Kooperation zu vertiefen 
  • ein weltweites forschungs- und transferstarkes Partnernetzwerk

Das Netzwerk und den Horizont erweitern

Mit WORLDFACTORY international nach Japan und Nordamerika 

Wie funktioniert Gründung auf der anderen Seite der Erde? Wie sieht die Innovations- und Start-up -Szene in Nordamerika oder in Japan aus? Welche  Innovations- und Start-up Trends, welche neuen Ideen gibt es dort? Persönliche Einblicke, Austausch und den Ausbau globaler Netzwerke ermöglicht die jährliche Delegationsreise „Creating Innovation Networks“ der WORLDFACTORY international.

Mehr erfahren

RuhrSummit international

Einmal im Jahr steigt mit dem RuhrSummit das größte B2B-Start-up-Event in Deutschland. Gemeinsam mit dem ruhr:HUB haben wir zusätzliche Angebote integriert, die euch mit Unternehmen, Investoren und dem Ökosystem der Region in Kontakt bringen.

Die Angebote der RuhrSummit

Bootcamp „Entrepreneurship Explorer Ruhr“

Das Bootcamp macht dich in zwei Wochen fit für die Gründung. Das Fortbildungsprogramm bereitet darauf vor, innovative Geschäftsideen umzusetzen. Es ist modular aufgebaut und umreißt alle Aspekte für eine erfolgreiche Geschäftsmodell-, Team- und Produktentwicklung.

Durch „Site Visits“ und Treffen mit erfolgreichen Gründer*innen bekommst du Einblick in das regionale Start-up-Szene in Bochum und in NRW. Am Ende des Bootcamps gibt es einen Pitch der Geschäftsideen. Wer gewinnt, erhält Unterstützung beim Entwickeln des Geschäftsmodells und für den Technologietransfer.

Mehr erfahren

 

Gastprogramm „Global Transfer Exchange“

Um das Transferpotenzial ihrer eigenen Forschung zu beleuchten und weiterzuentwickeln, erhalten Forscher*innen der Ruhr-Universität eine besondere Möglichkeit: Sie dürfen internationale gründungsaffine bzw. anwendungsorientierte Wissenschaftler*innen an die RUB einladen. Das individuell konzipierte Gastprogramm stärkt die Kooperation und unterstützt dabei, gemeinsame Transferprojekte zu starten.

Mehr erfahren

 

PROGRAMM MIT POTENZIAL

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie fördert das Internationalisierungsprogramm der Worldfactory im Rahmen der Initiative „EXIST-Potentiale“. Sie unterstützt Hochschulen beim Ausbau von Gründungsaktivitäten und Gründungsexzellenz.

Mehr erfahren

Eure Ansprechparterinnen

Bei Fragen zur Internationalisierung von Geschäftsmodellen sowie zur Ansiedlung internationaler Start-ups helfen euch unsere Gründungsberater*innen gerne weiter.

Portrait Vanessa Vaughn
Vanessa Vaughn

Projektmanagement

Portrait Meike Schaich
Meike Schaich

International Network Manager

Portrait Annika Engelbert
Dr. Annika Engelbert

International Network Manager